Collaborate Ultra Basic Chatting
In addition to audio and video, you may also communicate with other participants using chat. This tool is enabled by default for sessions but this can be changed by an instructor for all sessions through the Blackboard Learn interface using Edit Room. A moderator can also enable or disable this option for the current session by going to the Collaborate Panel and then My Settings and adjusting Session Settings.
The chat displays 50 messages at any given time. If you are recording a session, you will be able to access the complete chat history in the Everyone channel through the recording player. Private messages and breakout group chat messages are not recorded. As the recording plays, the chat messages posted highlight so you can see what was being said during that moment. You can also navigate to a specific location in the recording by selecting a chat message time stamp. You can also download chat transcripts through the Recording menu. If needed, you can make chat messages in the recording anonymous from the session settings. This needs to be done before starting the live session and recording it. To learn more, see Session Settings for moderators.
Click on the purple tab at the bottom right to open the Collaborate Panel.
Click on the Chat tab denoted by a bubble icon at the bottom of the Collaborate Panel if it is not already displayed.
The Chat tab will open within the Collaborate Panel.
Moderators have the ability to chat privately with other moderators by clicking on the drop-down menu at the upper right.
Emojis can be added to chat text by clicking the smiley face icon.